Trying to "restart" but too afraid

Discussion in 'Help with Life' started by cstar, May 4, 2013.

1. cstar stay away from my waifu

xxxI really did not want to have a straight-forward title for this topic because I wanted it to have to be understood by reading what I had to say. I would have real trouble asking someone I knew IRL because people IRL... I can't say suck but everyone knows everyone in my town. So let me actually get to the issue I need help with:
    x
    xxxI am a compulsive liar. It is really awful and I have been doing this for years, but for the past two years I have been keeping it in check. Lately, the lies have been small and not been drastically changing, I haven't lied about any events that have gone on within the past 8 months on the internet.

xxxI am going to explain how bad it was about 2 years ago though. I had an honest to god enjoyment of making up tragic events in my life for sympathy from people, in real life and on the computer. There was one story I can remember making up in 5th grade, where I told people one of my aunts died in a car crash the night before while on the phone with my father. The sad thing is that I know exactly why I would make up these lies and it sickens me.

xxThese lies have build up, some people forget them and never ask again, others ask about them from time to time. If they asked recently, I have told them it was a lie. But if they asked me about it 2 years or so ago, I probably expanded and made it worse.

xxThe issue right now is that the friends I made in my freshman year of high school know the real me better than my best friend I have known since I was in kindergarten.