"I’m a cop. If you don’t want to get hurt, don’t challenge me."

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by Makaze, Aug 21, 2014.

1. Makaze Some kind of mercenary

A touching article by an officer, courtesy of the Washington Post.

This is getting surreal. Really, really surreal.
    There are no words. You have to read it for yourself.

Source

2. Amaury Legendary Hero

I completely agree with the article and the police officer, and it was very well written. Cooperate, and things will go smoothly, even if you end up being arrested for, say, admitting to the police officer of the existence of drug paraphernalia in the vehicle.

Ask questions later and file a complaint if you felt you were treated unfairly.

3. Patman Bof

Jesus ...
    Of course things won' t go smoothly if you don' t cooperate or if you insult them, but come on ! In that scenario what he' s supposed to do is arrest you, not shoot you, taze you, pepper spray or strike you. He' s not supposed to use his taser nor his pepper spray unless you' re resisting arrest. As for the gun unless lifes are in danger that' s just a huge no no. What he just described is plain illegal behavior, which isn' t exactly comforting coming from a cop.

I' ve read the full article and that cop isn' t as hot-headed as the quote in the OP would have you believe. He chose a really piss poor way to summarize his thoughts though.

Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
  4. Makaze Some kind of mercenary

You can't file a complaint if you are dead.

5. Amaury Legendary Hero

Family members and friends can, though, in those cases.

If they are compensated with money, it by no means fills in the empty hole in their hearts of their beloved one's death, but the complaint is on record, which would hopefully prevent future incidents.

6. 61 No. B

That's one way of looking at it.
    Another is that if you are so insensitive or aggressive to resort to violence after being insulted, the power you hold is misplaced.