Question Help on Improving in General

Discussion in 'Help' started by Advent, Apr 27, 2009.

1. Advent 【DRAGON BALLSY】

Over the past month-ish that I've been making sigs, I feel like I haven't made too much progress. I've looked at some tutorials to learn how to use certain aspects of Photoshop well, and have had help from a few members on the forum, but I sill can only make mediocre sigs. What would you (preferably those of you who have seen my sigs over time) recommend for me to get... well, just better?

2. Hayabusa Venomous

Think this deviation best explains things for just about any new sig maker, even myself (cause I'm still a noob myself :3)

(not mine)
    [​IMG]

3. Misty gimme kiss

The tutorial that Hayabusa posted is ace. I've seen it before. (btw, Hayabusa, you frequent gfxbb or do you just lurk?)

Other than the obvious 'follow a tutorial' tip, there are some things I like to do. First and foremost, inspiration. For me, there's two places to draw your inspiration from. The first would be a particular stock. I notice that you use rather common, slightly overused stocks. Now yes, that's not always a bad thing, but they don't really speak. The stock you use is one of the most important building blocks of your signature.

Look at a stock like this one. What does it say to you? Loneliness in the the face of destruction? Dependency? Build off of the emotion you find in the stock, and translate it into the signature. Don't just choose a stock because it looks decent, or it's your favorite character. Pick it because it speaks to you. Look at this tag (made by Cinny). Clearly the original stock had a dark or sinister feel to it, and that translated into the signature.