Help How to Add Anchors

Discussion in 'Feedback & Assistance' started by Amaury, May 6, 2014.

  1. Amaury Legendary Hero

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    How do I add anchors? I've been seeing people do it, such as Jayn, and wanted to add my own to my project here.
     
  2. Plums Wakanda Forever

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Konoha
    4,346
  3. Amaury Legendary Hero

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Okay, so I'm little confused here. How does it know where to jump to? Like, do we replace "aname" with the actual thing we want to go to? For example, what would I put it so people can go directly to the YouTube Timeline section in the linked thread above?
     
  4. Plums Wakanda Forever

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Konoha
    4,346
    Correct.

    Let's say I had a post like:

    MISTY IS LAME

    REASONS MISTY IS LAME
    reasons​
    DO YOU THINK MISTY IS LAME
    answers​

    The bbcode would look like:

    Code:
    [jumpto=REASONS]REASONS MISTY IS LAME[/jumpto]
    
    [aname=REASONS]reasons.[/aname]
    
    [jumpto=OPINION]DO YOU THINK MISTY IS LAME[/jumpto]
    
    [aname=OPINION]answers[/aname]
    The 'aname' field can basically be whatever you want, but the place you're jumping to has to have the same one as the code that points to it. e.g. I can't have a code that is

    [ jumpto=awesome]Plums is awesome[/jumpto]

    [ aname=yeah]so awesome[/aname]

    because they are different things.
     
  5. Amaury Legendary Hero

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Okay, I think I got it. So, quick test here:

    Plums is a bad person!

    Plums is a bad person because he didn't unpin and lock the QT poll.

    Code:
    [jumpto=Plums]Plums is a bad person![/jumpto]
    
    [aname=Plums]Plums is a bad person because he didn't unpin and lock the QT poll.[/aname]
    So, then, this would be correct to skip to the YouTube Timeline section, right?
    Code:
    [jumpto=YouTube Timeline]YouTube Timeline[/jumpto]
    
    [aname=YouTube Timeline]I would move the entire content of the YouTube Timeline section here to be surrounded by aname.[/aname]
     
  6. Plums Wakanda Forever

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Konoha
    4,346
    You wouldn't move the whole content as that would, presumably, make the links nonfunctional. It's better to wrap a header for it with the aname tag.
     
  7. Amaury Legendary Hero

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ellensburg, WA
    1,693
    Uh, can you give me an example? :x