i need a job

Discussion in 'Help with Life' started by 61, Sep 10, 2013.

1. 61 No. B

Okay so less of an emotional thread and more of an "I have no idea what I'm doing and desperately need help" thread.

So I need a job. Like, bad.

My parents wanted me to apply at my school, and I wasn't loving the idea but I was going to do it anyway because it seemed easier than applying to somewhere else. Long story short, the deadline for that has come and gone, so that's not an option. So I'm left applying to other places and since I have zero experience with that, I'm kinda lost.

At some point during the summer I applied to Best Buy and their response was basically "lolno." I guess having no work experience is kind of a big deal to some people.

I've been saying for along time that I kinda want to work at a book store if that's at all possible, and there's a Books-a-Million in my city so I guess I could apply there. I plan on doing that but my Dad said if I worked at a place like that I might/probably would be working a lot during breaks, like Christmas and stuff. I mean yeah, but I need money and at this point if that's what it takes than I'm willing. The problem with applying to that place is that I'm almost positive that I wouldn't get the position, and when I glanced over the application there was a place where you had to put a previous employer and since I don't have one that's impossible. I was looking at the requirements/description of the job and it doesn't say anything about needing experience and it's an entry level job so that tells me that I should be okay to apply at least.

Anyway, all I'm asking is for advice/useful information from people who know more about this than me. Less on the specifics of any given place and more of a general "this is what you should know when applying for a job" type of stuff, though anything would be appreciated.

2. Iskandar King of Conquerors