Abusive boss at work

Discussion in 'Help with Life' started by Sara, Oct 25, 2013.

1. Sara Tea Drinker

I have been working at a small law firm for over four years now. It's a law firm that works for a bigger corporation. The supervisor (Chris) from said corporation has gone out of his way to show his utter hatred and anger towards me.

My supervisor (Terre) has little to no control over him and his actions. She has even a few times accused me of ridiculous things, including stealing microwave popcorn and dollar store bulk candy from a co-worker who I shared a desk with at the time. She also has treated me unfairly compared to the rest of my co-workers in other cases, including not asking my view when disputes arise and has given me severe lectures and embarrassed me. Several times she's accused me of stinking up the office. Another time she was mad and gave me a scathing lecture when I stood up for myself in a meeting when Chris bullied me into it when I was in a dispute with a co-worker about her doing my work when I really needed the work.Which I could hear the co-worker and Chris making jokes and laughing on the other side of the thin wall that separates our office while listening in.

The worst is Chris, he has basically verbally abused, harassed, sworn at and threatened me since I started working there. He has sent disparaging e-mails about me which I saved, told really nasty things to the co-workers behind my back, started rumors about me, I think he's the one who started the one about me stealing, called me a: "Waste of space" several times, has told me that if I ever make another mistake, he'd happily "rub it in my face", ripped me a new one about things when my supervisor who has final say said it was fine, and told me at least twice he can't stand the mere sight of me. One time I even LOOKED AT him too long when leaving which his office is right across the back door and he said: "What the **** are you looking at?"